I Have to Speak

This morning I got a letter from a distant relative who read my most recent blog post Rewind and Right Now: Lost Within Myself.  They are true, honest words, and I offer them here for whoever they may speak to, not just me.  Read and receive, my friends.

Also, I have added a new category to my blog entitled Right Now, which will include posts like this one, which do not directly relate to my trip.  I do think it is helpful to talk about these sorts of issues before my trip however, for I will need to know how to deal with it when it inevitably comes up while I am in Kona or on outreach.

“Oh my dear Heather, you don’t realize what a precious soul you are. It probably doesn’t help to have some distant relative say that you are not alone; you are very loved. But as one who has lived in hopeless hell for years, I have to speak. Your emotions know that are taking a huge step, and IT IS scary. If I can offer just one piece of advice, please don’t decide that you are letting anyone down by feeling your emotions. Unless they start to damage you, it’s OK to acknowledge and embrace them. God put them there, and without them, we would be very shallow people. Your pain today will give you deep insights into the hurting people you will meet. I know these words won’t stop the pain. Funny thing about strong negative emotions is they won’t won’t let you feel the love and support we want to give you. PS You are FAR more in touch with your inner feelings than most folks who do this kind of thing. It’s pure terror now, but as distant third party, I’m actually excited to see the person you will be in a year or two from now.” 

We are not alone friends, no matter how alone we feel.  God is with us, and we all have at least one person who loves us. That’s what I’m holding on to tonight.

Categories: Right Now | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Have to Speak

  1. Your relative is right on, Heather. Emotions are God’s gift to you. Make sure you have good support as you process them, and understand the truth they carry. Fear is something we all fear, and it even has a good purpose. It tells us that we’re entering into new territory, where there may be some danger. That’s useful information. But sometimes our story, or bio-chemistry, collude to make the fear seem overwhelming. That’s when you need someone like your relative to shine a light on it, so you can see that the giant phantom you’re terrified of is just an old coat hanging over the back of a ricking chair.

  2. Jana Kukla

    I’m glad you shared your letter from your relative Heather, especially today. I love you and thank you for touching my life by staying true to the one God planned for you. 🙂 there aren’t a lot of people honest with their own emotions to help others with theirs, I’m grateful you’re one of them.

Share your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

